Log in

Editor's Picks

Allan Taylor
A long-standing member of the IOS and fomer editor of Oak...
Panayoti Kelaidis | Dec 17, 2022
img_1085.jpg
A new study resolves many nomenclatural problems in the...
Carlos Vila-Viçosa | Dec 09, 2022
The team at SDZWA
Christy Powell of the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance works...
Amy Byrne | Dec 06, 2022

Plant Focus

Quercus macdougallii
A rare oak endemic to the Sierra Juárez in Oaxaca

Blogs

Spanish has many words related to acorns.
Quercus suber acorn
Posted Wed, 2021-12-01 22:02 in Roderick Cameron's blog
Using acorns to teach maths
Acorn-ulator Cover
Posted Thu, 2021-10-14 14:48 in Website Editor's blog
And a special prize would go to anyone who could identify the species from the photo!
1-jasonkirk_60x_oaktrichomestomata.jpg
Posted Wed, 2021-10-13 13:59 in Website Editor's blog
Video clips are a new feature in the database of Israeli oaks.
map.jpg
Posted Wed, 2021-10-13 11:13 in Ezra Barnea's blog
The authority cited for this taxon needs revision.
Quercus lobbii label
Posted Tue, 2021-10-12 18:41 in Roderick Cameron's blog
IOS members Paul Manos (Duke University) and Andrew Hipp (The Morton Arboretum) have just published a subsectional classification of North American Red and White Oaks
Phylogenetic tree
Posted Wed, 2021-06-16 12:40 in Andrew Hipp's blog
Mat Disney and his team study oaks using a terrestrial laser scanner
Queen Elizabeth Oak at Cowdray Park
Posted Sat, 2021-06-12 13:53 in Roderick Cameron's blog
Stories about oaks in the Netherlands
eik_ik.jpg
Posted Fri, 2021-06-11 17:02 in Website Editor's blog
"Ecocide" or eco-friendly?
Notre-Dame-de-Paris
Posted Sat, 2021-04-10 11:03 in Roderick Cameron's blog
Until recently, the name had been considered unplaced
obtecta_small_4.jpg
Posted Fri, 2021-03-26 11:07 in Patrick Vereecke's blog
A video clip by filmmaker Alon Issashar focuses on oak trees in Israel
screenshot_2021-02-20_101018.jpg
Posted Sat, 2021-02-20 13:09 in Ezra Barnea's blog
Quercus rotundifolia trees were in full flower two months earlier than usual in southern Portugal
Quercus rotundifolia, phenology
Posted Tue, 2021-02-09 20:00 in Philip Perry's blog

Pages